African Economic Research Consortium Masters Fellowships at African Universities in Africa 2020


African Economic Research Consortium Masters Fellowships application process at African Universities in Africa. Learn the best way to apply for the African Economic Research Consortium Masters Fellowships for the academic year  2020/2021, via their Scholarship Portal.

If you are reading this, it means you have heard about the African Economic Research Consortium Masters Fellowships 2020.

In this article, we are going to systematically outline the right way to apply for the African Economic Research Consortium Masters Fellowships for interested and qualified applicants.

Scholarship Description         

The founding of African Economic Research Consortium goes back as far as the late 1980s, when a small group of Africanists and African intellectuals started recognizing the disconnection between economic research and economic policy making in sub-Saharan Africa. Research results that were available and applied to other economies was not always fitting to the African context. And where such results were available, they were too often not put to use. Their concern swelled into a full-fledged idea; they had a discussion about a vehicle for pooling their expertise and applying it to the development of economic policy capacity in sub-Saharan Africa. And instead of sitting around mumbling about the problem, they decided to act. Thus, the AERC was born. The idea was fairly simple– to put in place a framework for assisting sound economic research on themes of significance to the management of economies in Africa as well as make existing expertise available via experienced economists who could assist as resource persons to the researchers being supported under the framework. First, they were able to convince one donor to support the idea, then a small group of donors. That group of donor agencies grew into the actual Consortium itself. Based in Nairobi, African Economic Research Consortium was formally founded in 1988. A postgraduate training program soon followed the research efforts, and then a publishing and communications component. Presently, the Consortium spreads across sub-Saharan Africa, with research as well as training alumni serving in central banks, ministries of finance, economic departments of universities and policy research institutions.

African Economic Research Consortium is pleased to announce the 2020/2021 Masters Scholarship awards for candidates from Anglophone sub-Saharan African nations that have gained admission into any of the following AERC Collaborative Master’s Program in Economics universities:

  • Addis Ababa University, Ethiopia
  • University of Botswana 
  • University of Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
  • University of Cape Coast, Ghana 
  • University of Ghana, Legon
  • University of Nairobi, Kenya
  • University of Mauritius
  • University of Namibia 
  • University of Malawi
  • University of Zimbabwe
  • Makerere University

Many applicants have been asking us questions like;

Available Subjects

All courses offered at the university.

Eligible Nationalities and Benefits

This scholarship is only open to students from African Countries.

Duration of Fellowship: 2 years.


To qualify for scholarship, applicant must:

(a) Have applied and been admitted to any one of the listed CMAP universities;
(b) Have attained at least a Second Class Honors (Upper Division) or equivalent in Economics or related field from an accredited university;
(c) Female and candidates from post-conflict and fragile nations are highly encouraged to apply.

How to Apply

Interested candidates must complete and submit their applications for admission directly to the respective universities they chose (application processes can be obtained from the respective university’s website). Upon receipt of an admission letter from a specific university, applicants shall send the following documents to AERC on and copy

1. Application cover letter
2. Curriculum Vitae
3. Proof of admission at any of the universities mentioned above; and
4. Certified copies of transcripts and certificates

Visit Fellowship Webpage for details


The deadline for the scholarship award application is 10th July, 2020. Applicants should ensure they submit their applications on or before the specified date.