Queen Elizabeth Distance Learning Commonwealth Scholarships at University of South Africa in South Africa 2020


Queen Elizabeth Distance Learning Commonwealth Scholarships application process at University of South Africa in South Africa. Learn the best way to apply for the Queen Elizabeth Distance Learning Commonwealth Scholarships for the academic year 2020/2021, via University of South Africa Scholarship Portal.

If you are reading this, it means you have heard about the Queen Elizabeth Distance Learning Commonwealth Scholarships 2020.

In this article, we are going to systematically outline the right way to apply for the Queen Elizabeth Distance Learning Commonwealth Scholarships for interested and qualified applicants.

Scholarship Description             

The Association of Commonwealth Universities in the UK is offering the Queen Elizabeth Distance Learning Commonwealth Scholarships for Masters Students South Africa, in 2020.

Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarship awards provides exceptional students from anywhere in the Commonwealth the chance to get a Master’s degree while also growing their global networks, developing new skills, as well as experiencing life in another country.

Scholarship awards are for students dedicated to bringing about change in their societies and contributing effectively to the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). The scholarships are named in honor of Her Majesty the Queen, Head of the Commonwealth and ACU Patron, and are fully funded and supported by numerous Commonwealth governments.

The Commonwealth, consisting of 53 countries, is a voluntary organization that promotes international cooperation and is underpinned by a set of values that advocate democracy, tolerance, respect, equality – and much more.

Awardees will become part of an active international alumni network with more than 35,000 individuals who have once benefited from the life-changing opportunities a Commonwealth Scholarship award provides and will contribute to the growth of the future Commonwealth.

Many applicants have been asking us questions like;

Available Subjects

The following courses are available to apply for a QECS;

  • MSc in Agriculture at CAES (the College of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences).
  • MSc Flotation, MSc Comminution, MSc Biogas, MSc Bio remediation, MSc Fischer Tropsch, MSc Gasification, MSc Process Synthesis at the College of Science, Engineering and Technology (CSET)
  • MEd in Open Distance Learning at CEDU (the College of Education).
  • All two (2) year distance learning Masters Courses in CEMS (the College of Economics and Management Sciences).
  • All two year distance learning Masters courses College of Human Sciences (CHS)

Eligible Nationalities and Benefits

To apply you must be a citizen of (or hold refugee status in) of one of the following countries; Antigua and Barbuda, Bangladesh, Belize, Botswana, Cameroon, Dominica, Eswatini , Fiji, The Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Samoa, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, St Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Tanzania, Tonga, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia.

Worth of Award

Award recipients receive:

  • Tuition fees
  • A living allowance (stipend)
  • An economy class return airfare to their Host country
  • An arrival allowance
  • A research support grant which is on request only and is subject to approval.


The University of South Africa will be hosting a Distance Learning program. This means that you will be studying for a Master’s degree with the University of South Africa, but in your home country.

  • You must have finished an undergraduate degree with a 2:1 or at an equivalent level.
  • Please, kindly note, universities may have their own specific eligibility criteria for its admissions – kindly contact the University for further Details.

How to Apply

Ensure that you have the following documents to upload during your application:

  • High school certificate
  • Undergraduate transcript (and graduation certificate)
  • Two references – preferably academic
  • Scan of passport or national ID card
  • Evidence of English language ability provided that English is not your first language

To apply for a QECS award at the University of South Africa, complete an online application form via the link below.

Click Here To Apply


The deadline for the scholarship award application is 9th July 2020 4:00 (UTC +1). Applicants should ensure they submit their applications on or before the specified date/time.