Rhodes Trust African Scholarships at University of Oxford in the UK 2020


Rhodes Trust African Scholarships application process at University of Oxford in the United Kingdom. Learn the best way to apply for the Rhodes Trust African Scholarships for the academic year 2020/2021, via University of Oxford Scholarship Portal.

If you are reading this, it means you have heard about the Rhodes Trust African Scholarships 2020.

In this article, we are going to systematically outline the right way to apply for the Rhodes Trust African Scholarships for interested and qualified applicants.

Scholarship Description

The Rhodes Trust Scholarships is a postgraduate award assisting outstanding students from nations around the world to study at the University of Oxford.

Every year, the Rhodes Trust Scholarships are given to more than ninety (90) Rhodes Scholars chosen from twenty (20) Rhodes constituencies (64 countries) around the world to study for postgraduate degree at university of Oxford. They are exceptional young women and men of different interests and backgrounds who exhibit strong potential to be public-spirited leaders for the growth and development of the world in its near future.

Many applicants have been asking us questions like;

Available Subjects

All courses offered at the university.

Eligible Nationalities and Benefits

This scholarship is open to students in

African Countries: 

  • East Africa: Rwanda, Tanzania, South Sudan, Guinea, Burundi, Uganda and Kenya.
  • West Africa: Nigeria, Mali, Benin, Guinea-Bissau, Senegal, Ivory Coast, Mauritania, Liberia, the island of Saint Helena, São Tomé and Principe, Burkina Faso, Gambia, Niger, Sierra Leone, Cape Verde, Ghana, and Togo.
  • Southern Africa: South Africa, Lesotho, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Namibia and Swaziland, Zambia and Malawi. See each country via scholarship page (link below) for specific criteria

Other Countries:  Canada, Germany, China, India, New Zealand, Hong Kong, Jamaica & the Commonwealth Bermuda, Australia, Malaysia, United Arab Emirates, Pakistan, SJLP (including Syria, Jordan, Lebanon, Palestine), Caribbean, Israel, United States.

Number of scholarships: Up to 99

Duration: Rhodes scholarship awardees may study for any full-time postgraduate degree (including the BA with senior status over two (2) years) at the University of Oxford.

It is within the discretion of the Trustees for the Scholarship to be extended for a third year for those who take a recognized route to the DPhil. The Masters of Business Administration (MBA) and the Masters of Financial Economics (MFE) are tenable only in the second year of the Scholarship award.

The basic tenure of the Scholarship award is two (2) years, subject to satisfactory personal conduct and academic performance.


Rhodes Selection Committees are watching out for young persons of exceptional intellect, leadership, character, and dedication to service from twenty (20) Rhodes constituencies (64 countries) around the world.
The four (4) criteria governing the selection of Rhodes Scholars are:

  • scholastic and literary attainments (academic brilliance)
  • energy to use one’s skills to the full (as exhibited by mastery in capacities such as music, sports, dance, debate, and artistic pursuits, theatre, especially where teamwork is involved)
  • courage, truth, sympathy for and protection of the weak, devotion to duty, kindliness, fellowship and unselfishness
  • Moral force of character and dispositions to lead, and to have an interest in one’s fellow beings.

Who is qualified to apply? The following eligibility criteria apply to all candidates for the Rhodes scholarship awards:

  • Citizenship & residency: You must fulfill the citizenship/residency criteria of one of the Rhodes constituencies: Hong Kong, India, Kenya, Germany, China, Australia, Israel, Jamaica & the Commonwealth Caribbean, Pakistan, Malaysia, Bermuda, Southern Africa (including South Africa, Lesotho, Namibia, Malawi, Botswana, and Swaziland), Canada, New Zealand, United Arab Emirates, West Africa, SJLP (including Syria, Jordan, Lebanon, Palestine), United States, Zimbabwe, Zambia.
  • Age: You must have had your 18th birthday and not have passed your 24th birthday by 1st October of the year of application. There are some variations on the upper age limit across different constituencies based on the local environment. Please check carefully the exact age criteria for your constituency before applying. Successful applicants will arrive in Oxford the October after the selection process. The Scholarship award may not be deferred.
  • Education: Rhodes scholarship awardees should have completed a Bachelor’s degree prior to coming up to Oxford, to an adequately high standard to fulfill both the Rhodes and the Oxford requirements. Please, kindly check out the detailed information provided by the constituency to which you want to apply on the ‘How to apply for a Rhodes scholarship’ page and the prospectus pages (link below) of the University of Oxford.

NB: Some constituencies necessitate the completion of your undergraduate degree in the year of application for the Scholarship scheme.

How to Apply

For detailed application criteria for each constituency, please, kindly visit the nation pages via the country links. However, in broad terms, all constituencies will ask for the following materials in differing forms:

  • Evidence of academic record/transcript (in progress or complete) of undergraduate degree (Bachelor’s degree) and any postgraduate study
  • Curriculum vitae (CV)/résumé or list of principal activities
  • Personal statement or essay (including, importantly, a clear and precise statement of what the candidate wishes to study at Oxford and why)
  • Evidence of age/ certificate of birth/international passport
  • English Language proficiency (where English is not the first language)
  • Photograph
  • List of referees (usually several are asked for) who can confirm in private references to the intellect and character of the candidate, including personal, academic, extra-curricular and leadership accomplishments (and who should not include people to whom you are related).

Visit Scholarship Webpage for details


The deadline for the scholarship award application are as follows;

  • East Africa: 31st August, 2020
  • Kenya: 31st August, 2020
  • Southern Africa: 15th August, 2020
  • West Africa: 30th September, 2020
  • Zambia: 31st September, 2020
  • Zimbabwe: 31st August, 2020

Applicants should ensure they submit their applications on or before the specified date.